Piotr T. Nowakowski

doctor of pedagogy; Assistant Professor at The John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin – Off-Campus Faculty of Social Sciences in Stalowa Wola

 

POLISH EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM WITH REGARD TO THE CULT PROBLEM

 

Educational institutions have been an attractive point of reference for cults’ recruiters for a long time. A series of alarming occurrences of controversial groups penetrating schools could be observed in recent years. These groups declared their activity as “uninterested,” however, used this as a disguise to carry out recruitment of new members.

 

This activity was carried out in different ways. It could be a proposal of equipping a school library with books in exchange for personal contacts with readers as well as offering them books which promoted the cult’s doctrine. Foundations and sponsoring also turned out to be a method of recruitment. On one occasion was much ado about an incident when one of the groups almost took control over an orphanage. Its members bought sport equipment, teaching aids and tutored for free. They also had an effect on a primary school, situated nearby. Let’s add to this the casus of International Society for Krishna Consciousness, which ran a vegetarian lunchroom for children in one of Krakow’s primary schools. It allowed the society’s representatives to have daily contact with children beyond the parents’ control.

 

Some offers were sent to schools secretaries formally and, among others, covered learning foreign languages, fast reading and mind training (e.g., Silva Mind Control). Unspecified companies also advertised offers for parents whose children had some school problems. In 1997, materials concerning an ecological competition were sent to schools by the agency of a school superintendent. The set included an offer of Brahma Kumaris World Spiritual University and an invitation for a course of positive thinking.

 

Renting school rooms, after lessons, for their own purposes, was noted as well. It was also an opportunity to make a group dependent as well as enter into informal relationships with young people who stayed behind after school. A cult sometimes succeeded in presenting its offer during classes. By adopting the name of an association or foundation of an educational nature, these groups proposed conducting lectures or topical meetings. Without prior content control, it could have turned out that a school was involved in the indoctrination.

 

Call! We Will Come

 

The young people made an untypical offer to the Economic School Complex (Zespół Szkół Ekonomicznych) in Leszno: a performance in English. “Why not?” – the manager said, “it is a great opportunity for the students to improve their foreign language skills.” Nobody knew that they were members of a cult called the Family.[1] At first, the performance was to take place in a hall of the Municipal Cultural Centre, however, the place was being renovated. Finally, the right place was settled – a school hall. In exchange for this, the tickets for students of this economic school were cheaper. Besides them, the students from the neighbouring Clothes School Complex (Zespół Szkół Odzieżowych) also came – in total about two hundred people. “It was a performance in which good fought evil” – one girl reports, “something like: Satan was about to win, but Jesus finally came and defeated him. They sang in English, danced a little. Generally it was fine.” After the performance, the actors engaged young people in conversation in English. Nevertheless, not all conversations were carried out in the presence of the school English teachers. The guests convinced young people that they could help them with their problems. They invited them to their place and told them not to tell anybody about it. It would be enough to phone them from a railway station, and they could pick him/her up there. It turned out that after the school performance the cult members phoned several people. A girl phoned who spoke Polish relatively well. She presented herself as Abigeil. She said that she wanted to remind the students and to encourage contact.[2]

 

A journalist of Głos Wielkopolski newspaper succeeded in contacting the students who received a phone number from the cult. He asked his colleague to phone purporting to be a student. The phone was picked up by a girl who spoke English. After a while a second girl took the call – she spoke Polish; her name was Gloria.

“You said that if I had trouble, I could phone. I had a quarrel with my parents.”

“Where are you phoning from? From home? Come on Saturday, we have a meeting then. Phone from a railway station. We will pick you up."

“And what are we going to do?”

“We will sing, drink some tea, eat cake.”

“And will we pray?" – a pause. “Yes. We are Christians. You are also Christian, aren’t you?”

“Who are you?”

“We live here at our friends. We are friends. We help in an orphanage and a reformatory. Come. You will be able to talk.”

 

After two days the journalist himself phoned. A young girl picked up the phone. “Good morning! I am a journalist from Głos Wielkopolski newspaper. I have found out that you invite young people to your place. Can I find out why you do that?”

“Who are you? Aha, a journalist? Can you speak English?” – she spoke broken Polish, but it was understandable. It could have been possible that she actually spoke better than she demonstrated.

“Are you a religious group, a cult?” [sic]

“No! We live at our friends. Can you speak English, I don’t understand” – she repeated after all the following questions.

“Can I talk to anybody who can speak Polish?”

“No, there’s nobody.”

“With Gloria or Abigeil?”

“They aren’t here.”

“And maybe later, tomorrow will there be anybody who can speak Polish?”

“No, there’ll be nobody.”

“Tomorrow neither?”

“No!”

A Cult with Recommendation

 

A couple of years ago a storm was brought about by the activity of the Family in Legionowo near Warsaw. The case is not as recent, but instructive. In December 1993, two members of the cult came to local schools with a proposal to carry out talks about drug addiction and AIDS with the young people. During the talks with the management a place of a meeting was set – the headquarters of the Association of Drug Addiction Prevention (Towarzystwo Zapobiegania Narkomanii) in Legionowo.

 

Ten young people from one of the primary schools and a group of students from a secondary school came to this meeting. Three teachers from a primary school and an educator from a secondary school were also present. However, during the lecture it appeared that the guests did not speak about the subject agreed upon earlier. The meeting was made to look like a quasi-religious propaganda, and finally young people were asked to give their addresses. The cult was recommended by one of the police subinspectors – the chairman of the Association of Drug Addiction Prevention (Foster Division in Police Main Headquarters). He highly esteemed the moral message carried out by the Family Mission Assembly and he stated that it was “a new religious movement relatively well-known, also from TV programmes.” According to the subinspector, this group could be an alternative for pathological families. When the case saw the light of day, the school superintendent and the Ministry of National Education expressed great reservations about the cult’s activities in the schools in Legionowo. The town’s authorities ordered subordinate institutions to stop all contacts with the group. They also ordered that children, youth and parents be warned against this cult. Moreover, the Association of Drug Addiction Prevention was given a note to quit their presently occupied premises by the Housing Co-operative in Legionowo, and during a thorough analysis of this case it turned out that the cult members had carried out their activities even earlier – during youth camps organised by the above-mentioned association.

 

Caution Is Not Bad

 

The school authorities are responsible for the protection of children and youth against the activities of cults. It can be executed by broadly defined prevention, which consists of informing teachers, parents and students of recruitment and psycho-manipulation methods. It is also necessary to prepare mechanisms of controlling the content of lectures and actions of invited guest lecturers or “specialists,” but – as it sometimes turns out – teachers as well. After publishing an article about the Himavanti Confraternity Order (Bractwo Zakonne Himavanti) by Newsweek Polska in 2003, it turned out that a Polish language teacher from one of Bydgoszcz’s schools was connected with the cult. Then the Ministry of Education demanded carrying out control by school superintendents. Based on police data, they were to check out if Himavanti members acted in schools and could influence the young people in this way. It is commonly known that Himavanti is an extremely dangerous and unpredictable cult[3].

 

The school managers often recognize a threat very quickly by themselves and do not allow school penetration. It happens in cases when the school rooms are refused to be hired, people entering a school are controlled and received offers and leaflets are verified. In particular individual cases the school managers ask specialists in this field for help.

 

It also happens that the reaction of school management to the school’s problems is as follows: “I can see nothing, I can hear nothing.” This is proved by a case from the Silesian Information Centre of Cults and New Religious Movements (Śląskie Centrum Informacji o Sektach i Nowych Ruchach Religijnych). In the second half of 2000 the office coordinator, Dariusz Pietrek, concluded an agreement with the Health Division of the Municipal Office in Katowice for conducting 55 lecturers for the students. The schools did not bear any costs; all costs were borne by the Municipal Office, making conditions extremely attractive. However, not all schools accepted the proposal. There was a refusal from a secondary school, which had a very good reputation.

 

It was as follows: Dariusz Pietrek phoned, presented himself and presented the offer of lectures. Then the school manager arrogantly said: “But Sir, our students are so intelligent, so smart, so discriminating, that they will not allow themselves to be caught by such mechanisms!” The Coordinator of the Silesian Centre did not conceal his astonishment: “If you do not want it, it is no problem, although I am surprised, because it is the first offer of this kind for six years; not to mention the fact that our training is generally chargeable, as we are a self-financing office, and here you are being offered a lecture for free.”

 

By coincidence, the next day some parents with a daughter who tried to free herself from a satanic group came to his office. During the conversation it turned out that the girl attended a very good secondary school… the same one that Dariusz Pietrek had phoned the day before. “I could not control my laughter,” he recalled. ”Immediately I explained my reaction.” Their daughter commented more emphatically: “Sir, there are few normal people there, there are people who take drugs, drink, and belong to various kind of subculture. A satanic group, of which I am a member, consists of at least seven people, and I do not know who else may be there”.

 

The situation forced the coordinator of the Silesian Centre to phone the secondary school manager the next day. “I heard her indignant voice, that I was not well-mannered, that she had explained to me once already that the students were intelligent and that she did not require any lectures,” Pietrek remembered. “I only said: Excuse me, you understood me in the wrong way, I do not want to persuade you to accept my proposal, because you told me this distinctly and I understood. I simply want to inform you that in your school there is a satanic group consisting of at least seven people. I have it confirmed, because the parents visited me a day earlier.” The manager imperiously demanded the girl’s name, but Dariusz Pietrek due to obvious reasons had to refuse.

 

Preventive Measures against the Cults

 

Due to the attempts of certain cults to interfere with the functioning of schools, certain preventive initiatives have been carried out over a period of years. The following initiatives have been undertaken in some school superintendents’ offices within this scope:

·        instructions for school supervisors;

·        training for school pedagogues, educators, methodological advisors, in addition to schools and district nurses;

·        meetings with parents (talks, lectures, etc.);

·        workshops and seminars for school pedagogues, teachers and head masters;

·        psycho educational and therapeutic training for the youth conducted by the staff of psychological-pedagogical clinics;

·        turns of duty of specialists (volunteers from cult-awareness organizations and educationists);

·        publications in local educational periodicals;

·        inclusion of the problem of new religious movements in the curricula of postgraduate studies and qualifying courses for teachers;

·        inclusion of the problem of threats of cults in the curricula for courses in personal and social education, civic education, religious studies, and ethics;

Within the scope of information, preventive and therapeutical activities, the school superintendents established also relations with nongovernmental organisations, associations and media[5]. Due to noticed activities of cults, it is necessary to maintain the execution of the above-mentioned initiatives. Though at present the organised cult groups trying to infiltrate schools are not so big problem as controversial training or therapeutical methods (mentioned at the very beginning), which are promoted in the educational environment. However, the analysis of these offers was not the purpose of this paper.

 

 

When you cite or refer to this paper, please comprise the following data: P. T. Nowakowski, “Polish Educational System with Regard to the Cult Problem” – paper presented at the conference State Responsibility to Protect Citizens against Destructive Cults: Analysis of Present and Possible Future Models, European Federation of Centres of Research and Information on Sectarianism, Pisa (Italy), 12 April 2008.

 



[1] The group was first known as the Children of God (1968-1977), afterwards – the Family of Love (1978-1981), later – the Family (1982-2003), and since 2004 its name is the Family International).

[2] See A. Jakubowski, Werbują w Lesznie? [Do They Recruit in Leszno?], Głos Wielkopolski 79: 4.

[3] M. Karnowski, A. R. Potocki, Bractwo nigdy nie wybacza [Fraternity Never Forgives], Newsweek Polska 46: 12-18; A. R. Potocki, Kuratorzy na Himawanti. Po publikacji [The School Superintendents against Himavanti. After Publication], Newsweek Polska 48: 7.

[4] Raport o niektórych zjawiskach związanych z działalnością sekt w Polsce [Report on Some Phenomena Connected with Cult Activities in Poland], K. Wiktor, G. Mikrut (Eds.), Ministerstwo Spraw Wewnętrznych i Administracji [The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Administration], Warszawa 2000: 55.

[5] Ibidem.

Piotr T. Nowakowski (Polen)

Doktor der Pädagogik, Assistent Professor an der Johannes Paul II Katholischen Universität von Lublin – externe Fakultät der Sozialwissenschaften in Stawola Wola

 

Das polnische Bildungssystem mit Rücksicht auf das Sektenproblem

 

Bildungsinstitutionen waren lange Zeit hindurch ein attraktives Betätigungsfeld für Kultwerber. Eine Reihe von alarmierenden Auftritten kontroverser Gruppen in Schulen konnte in den letzten Jahren beobachtet werden. Diese Gruppen erklärten ihre Tätigkeit als „uninteressiert“, benützten dies jedoch als Tarnung für das Anwerben neuer Mitglieder.

 

Diese Tätigkeit wurde auf verschiedene Weise ausgeführt. Es konnte ein Vorschlag sein, eine Schulbibliothek mit Büchern auszustatten, dabei persönliche Kontakte mit Lesern zu knüpfen und ihnen Bücher anzubieten, welche die Lehre der Sekte förderten. Stiftungen und Sponsoring stellten sich auch als Werbemethode heraus. Gelegentlich war große Aufregung bezüglich eines Vorfalls, bei dem eine Gruppe beinahe die Kontrolle über ein Waisenhaus übernommen hätte. Ihre Mitglieder kauften Sportausrüstungen, Lernhilfen und boten gratis Nachhilfeunterricht an. Sie hatten auch Einfluss auf eine nahe gelegene Grundschule. Fügen wir noch den Fall der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Krishna-Bewusstsein hinzu, die eine vegetarische Kantine in einer der Grundschulen Krakaus betrieb. Die ermöglichte den Vertretern der Gesellschaft, mit Kinder außerhalb der Aufsicht der Eltern täglich Kontakt zu haben.

 

Einige Angebote wurden formal an die Schulsekretariate geschickt und betrafen unter anderem das Lernen fremder Sprachen, schnelles Lesen und Gedächtnisübungen (z.B. Silva Mind Control). Nicht spezifizierte Unternehmen warben für Angebote für Eltern, deren Kinder Schulprobleme hatten. 1997 schickte das Büro eines Inspektors Material für einen Ökologie-Wettbewerb an Schulen. Das Material enthielt ein Angebot der Brahma Kumaris Spirituellen Weltuniversität und eine Einladung zu einem Kurs für Positives Denken.

 

Auch die Vermietung von Schulräumen nach Ende des Unterrichts wurde festgestellt. Dies war ebenfalls eine Gelegenheit, eine Gruppe abhängig zu machen und mit jungen Leuten informelle Kontakte zu knüpfen, die nach dem Unterricht dort blieben. Einer Sekte gelang es gelegentlich, ihre Angebote während des Unterrichts zu machen. Unter Annahme des Namens einer Vereinigung oder Stiftung aus dem Bildungsbereich schlugen diese Gruppen das Abhalten von Vorträgen oder Fachdiskussionen vor. Ohne vorherige Überprüfung des Inhalts hätte es geschehen können, dass eine Schule in die Indoktrination verwickelt worden wäre.

 

1.                  Rufe! Wir werden kommen!

Die jungen Leute machten dem Wirtschaftschulkomplex (Zespół Szkół Ekonomicznych) in Leyzno ein untypisches Angebot: eine Vorstellung in englischer Sprache. „Warum nicht?“, sagte der Manager, „es ist eine großartige Gelegenheit für die Stundenten, ihre fremdsprachlichen Fähigkeiten zu verbessern. Niemand wusste, dass sie Mitglieder einer Sekte waren, die sich „Die Familie“ nennt.[1] Zuerst sollte die Vorstellung in einem Saal des städtischen Kulturzentrums stattfinden, der jedoch gerade renoviert wurde. Schließlich wurde ein passende Platz gefunden – ein Saal in der Schule. Dafür waren die Eintrittskarten für die Studenten dieser Wirtschaftsschule billiger. Außerdem kamen auch die Studenten des benachbarten Kleiderschulkomplexes (Zespół Szkół Odzieżowych) – insgesamt etwa 200 Leute. „Es war eine Vorstellung, in der das Gute gegen das Böse kämpfte“, berichtet ein Mädchen, „so etwas wie: Satan war dabei zu gewinnen, aber schließlich kam Jesus und besiegte ihn. Sie sangen auf Englisch und tanzten ein wenig. Im Allgemeinen war es schön.“ Nach der Vorstellung verwickelten die Schauspieler junge Leute in ein Gespräch in englischer Sprache. Jedoch fanden nicht alle Gespräche in Gegenwart von Englischlehrern der Schule statt. Die Gäste überzeugten die jungen Leute, dass sie ihnen bei ihren Problemen helfen könnten. Sie luden sie zu sich ein und sagten ihnen, sie dürften niemandem davon erzählen. Es würde genügen, sie von einem Bahnhof aus anzurufen, dann würde sie von dort abgeholt. Es stellte sich heraus, dass die Sektenmitglieder nach der Schulvorstellung mehrere Schüler angerufen hatten. Ein Mädchen rief an, das ziemlich gut polnisch sprach. Sie stellte sich als Abigeil vor. Sie sagte, sie wolle die Studenten erinnern und sie zum Kontakt ermutigen.[2]

Einem Journalisten der Zeitung Głos Wielkopolski gelang es, den Studenten ausfindig zu machen, der eine Telefonnummer der Sekte erhalten hatte. Er bat seinen Kollegen, anzurufen und sich als Student auszugeben. Der Anruf wurde von einem Mädchen entgegengenommen, das englisch sprach. Nach einiger Zeit übernahm ein zweites Mädchen das Gespräch - sie sprach polnisch und ihr Name war Gloria.

 

“Du sagtest, ich könne anrufen, wenn ich Probleme hätte. Ich hatte Streit mit meinen Eltern.“

„Von wo rufst du an? Von daheim? Komm am Samstag, dann haben wir ein Treffen. Ruf von einem Bahnhof aus an. Wir holen dich ab.”

“Und was werden wir dann tun?”.

„Wir werden singen, etwas Tee trinken, Kuchen essen.“

„Und werden wir beten?“ – eine Pause. „Ja. Wir sind Christen. Du bist auch Christ, nicht wahr?“

“Wer seid ihr?”

“Wir wohnen hier bei unseren Freunden. Wir sind Freunde. Wir helfen in einem Waisenhaus und in einer Besserungsanstalt. Komm. Du wirst sprechen können.“

Nach zwei Tagen rief der Journalist selbst an. Ein junges Mädchen nahm den Anruf entgegen. „Guten Morgen! Ich bin Journalist von der Zeitung Głos Wielkopolski. Ich habe herausgefunden, dass ihr junge Leuten zu euch einladet. Kann ich erfahren, warum ihr das tut?“

„Wer bist du? Aha, ein Journalist? Kannst du englisch sprechen?“ – sie sprach gebrochen polnisch, aber es war verständlich. Es hätte möglich sein können, dass sie tatsächlich besser sprach, als sie vorgab.“

„Seid ihr eine religiöse Gruppe, eine Sekte?“ [sic]

„Nein! Wir leben bei unseren Freunden. Kannst du englisch sprechen, ich verstehe nicht“ – sie wiederholte schließlich die folgenden Fragen.

„Kann ich mit jemandem sprechen, der polnisch sprechen kann?“

„Nein, es gibt hier niemanden.“

„Mit Gloria oder Abigeil?“

„Sie sind nicht hier.“

„Und vielleicht später, wird morgen jemand hier sein, der polnisch sprechen kann?“

„Nein, es wird niemand hier sein.“

„Auch morgen nicht?“

„Nein!“

 

Eine Sekte mit Empfehlung

Vor einigen Jahren gab es Aufregung über die Aktivität der Familie in Legionowo bei Warschau. Der Fall ist nicht ganz neu, aber instruktiv. Im Dezember 1993 kamen zwei Mitglieder der Sekte zu örtlichen Schulen mit dem Vorschlag, mit den jungen Leuten Gespräche über Drogenabhängigkeit und AIDS zu führen. Während der Gespräche mit der Direktion wurde ein Ort für das Treffen vereinbart – das Hauptquartier der Vereinigung zur Vorbeugung gegen Drogenabhängigkeit (Towarzystwo Zapobiegania Narkomanii) in Legionowo.

 

Zehn junge Leute von einer der Grundschulen und eine Gruppe Studenten von einer höheren Schule kamen zu dem Treffen. Drei Lehrer von einer Grundschule und ein Erzieher von einer höheren Schule waren ebenfalls anwesend. Während des Vortrags stellte sich jedoch heraus, dass die Gäste nicht über das Thema sprachen, das früher vereinbart worden war. Das Treffen wurde zu einer quasireligiösen Propaganda umfunktioniert, und schließlich wurden junge Leute aufgefordert, ihre Adressen bekannt zu geben. Die Sekte wurde von einem der Unterinspektoren der Polizei empfohlen – dem Vorsitzenden der Vereinigung zur Vorbeugung gegen Drogenabhängigkeit (eine Pflegeabteilung im Hauptquartier der Polizei). Er schätzte sehr den moralischen Anspruch des Missionsteams der Familie und behauptete, sie sei „eine auch aus Fernsehprogrammen relativ wohlbekannte religiöse Bewegung.“ Gemäß dem Unterinspektor könnte diese Gruppe eine Alternative für pathologische Familien sein. Als dieser Fall bekannt wurde, drückten der Schulinspektor und das Ministerium für Nationale Bildung große Bedenken bezüglich der Aktivitäten der Sekte in den Schulen von Legionowo aus. Die Behörden der Stadt gaben allen untergeordneten Institutionen Bescheid, alle Kontakte mit der Gruppe einzustellen. Sie verfügten auch, dass Kinder, Jugendliche und Eltern vor dieser Sekte gewarnt werden sollten. Außerdem erhielt die Vereinigung zur Vorbeugung gegen Drogenabhängigkeit Bescheid, ihre derzeit von der Housing Co-operative in Legionowo gemieteten Räumlichkeiten zu räumen, und durch eine sorgfältige Analyse dieses Falls wurde bekannt, dass die Sektenmitglieder schon früher aktiv gewesen waren – während Jugendlagern, die von der erwähnten Vereinigung organisiert wurden.

 

Vorsicht ist nicht zu verachten

Die Schulbehörden sind für den Schutz von Kindern und Jugendlichen vor der Tätigkeit der Sekten verantwortlich. Dies kann durch breit definierte Vorbeugung geschehen, die darin besteht, Lehrer, Eltern und Studenten über die Werbung und die Methoden der Psycho-Manipulation zu informieren. Es ist auch nötig, Mechanismen der Kontrolle des Inhalts von Vorträgen und Aktionen eingeladener Gastreferenten oder „Spezialisten“, aber – wie sich gelegentlich herausstellt -, auch von Lehrern - aus vorzubereiten. Nach der Veröffentlichung eines Artikels über den Orden der Himavanti-Bruderschaft (Bractwo Zakonne Himavanti) durch Newsweek Polska im Jahre 2003 stellte sich heraus, dass ein Lehrer der polnischen Sprache aus einer der Schulen von Bydgoszcz mit der Sekte in Verbindung stand. Dann verfügte das Bildungsministerium, dass die Schulinspektoren Kontrolle ausüben müssten. Aufgrund von polizeilichen Daten sollten sie überprüfen, ob Mitglieder von Himavanti in Schulen tätig waren und auf diese Weise die jungen Leute beeinflussen konnten. Es ist allgemein bekannt, dass Himavanti eine extrem gefährliche und unberechenbare Sekte ist.[3].

Die Schuldirektoren erkennen eine Bedrohung oft sehr schnell selbst und erlauben keine Infiltration der Schulen. Dies geschieht in Fällen, in denen man die Vermietung von Schulräumen verweigert, Personen, welche die Schule betreten, kontrolliert, und erhaltene Angebote und Flugzettel überprüft. In besonderen Fällen bitten die Schuldirektoren Spezialisten auf diesem Gebiet um Unterstützung.

 

Es kommt auch vor, dass die Reaktion der Schuldirektion bezüglich der Probleme der Schule folgendermaßen aussieht: „Ich kann nichts sehen, ich kann nichts hören.“ Das wird bestätigt durch einen Fall vom schlesischen Informationszentrum über Sekten und Neue Religiöse Bewegungen (Śląskie Centrum Informacji o Sektach i Nowych Ruchach Religijnych). In der zweiten Hälfte des Jahres 2000 schloss der Büroleiter Dariusz Pietrek ein Abkommen mit der Gesundheitsabteilung der Stadtverwaltung von Kattowitz über 55 Vorträge für die Studenten. Die Schulen trugen dafür keine Kosten, diese wurden durch die Stadtverwaltung getragen, was das Angebot sehr attraktiv machte. Aber nicht alle Schulen nahmen den Vorschlag an. Eine höhere Schule, die einen sehr guten Ruf hatte, lehnte ihn ab.

 

Es geschah folgendermaßen: Dariusz Pietrek rief an und stellte sich und das Angebot vor. Darauf sagte die Schuldirektorin arrogant: „Aber lieber Herr, unsere Studenten sind so intelligent, so geschickt, so urteilsfähig, dass sie es sich nicht erlauben werden, durch solche Mechanismen gefangen zu werden!“ Der Koordinator des schlesischen Zentrums verbarg sein Erstaunen nicht: „Wenn Sie es nicht wollen, dann ist es kein Problem, obwohl ich überrascht bin, denn es ist das erste Angebot dieser Art seit sechs Jahren, abgesehen davon, dass unser Training im Allgemeinen kostenpflichtig ist, da wir uns selbst finanzieren müssen, und hier wird Ihnen ein Vortrag umsonst angeboten.“

 

Zufällig kamen am nächsten Tag Eltern mit einer Tochter, die versuchte, sich von einer satanistischen Gruppe zu befreien, zu seinem Büro. Während des Gesprächs ergab sich, dass das Mädchen eine sehr gute höhere Schule besuchte ..... dieselbe, die Dariusz Pietrek am Tag zuvor angerufen hatte. „Ich konnte das Lachen nicht zurückhalten“, erinnert er sich. „Sofort erklärte ich meine Reaktion.“ Die Tochter kommentierte noch bestimmter: „Herr, es gibt dort einige normale Leute, es gibt welche, die Drogen nehmen, trinken und zu verschiedenen Arten von Subkulturen gehören. Eine satanistische Gruppe, zu der ich gehöre, besteht aus mindestens sieben Leuten, und ich weiß nicht, was es dort noch alles gibt.“

 

Die Situation veranlasste den Koordinator des schlesischen Zentrums, am nächsten Tag diese Schuldirektorin anzurufen. „Ich hörte ihre entrüstete Stimme, dass ich keine guten Manieren hätte, dass sie mir bereits erklärt hätte, ihre Studenten seien intelligent und sie benötige keine Vorträge“, erinnert sich Pietrek. “Ich sagte nur: Entschuldigen Sie, Sie verstehen mich falsch. Ich möchte Sie nicht dazu überreden, meinen Vorschlag anzunehmen, denn Sie haben mir das ausdrücklich erklärt und ich habe es verstanden. Ich wollte Sie einfach nur darüber informieren, dass es in Ihrer Schule eine satanistische Gruppe gibt, die aus sieben Leuten besteht. Ich erhielt es bestätigt, denn die Eltern besuchten mich gestern.“ Die Direktorin verlangte gebieterisch, den Namen des Mädchens zu erfahren, aber Dariusz Pietrek musste dies aus nahe liegenden Gründen verweigern

 

Präventive Maßnahmen gegen Sekten

Wegen der Versuche bestimmter Sekten, sich in den Betrieb von Schulen einzumischen, wurden einige Jahre lang bestimmte vorbeugende Maßnahmen durchgeführt. Die folgenden Initiativen wurden in dieser Hinsicht in einigen Schulinspektoren-Büros unternommen:

·                    Instruktionen für Schulinspektoren

·                    Training für Schulpädagogen, Erzieher, methodische Berater, zusätzlich zu Schul- und Bezirkskrankenpflegerinnen

·                    Treffen mit Eltern (Gespräche, Vorträge, usw.)

·                    Workshops und Seminare für Schulpädagogen, Lehrer und Direktoren

·                    Psycho-erzieherisches und therapeutisches Training für Jugendliche, ausgeführt von Mitarbeitern psychologisch-pädagogischer Kliniken

·                    Dienste von Spezialisten (ehrenamtliche Mitarbeiter von Sektenaufklärungs-Organisationen und Erzieher)

·                    Veröffentlichungen in lokalen Bildungszeitschriften

·                    Einbeziehung des Problems der Neuen Religiösen Bewegungen in die Lehrpläne von Postgraduiertenstudien und in Weiterbildungskurse für Lehrer

·                    Einbeziehung des Problems der Sektengefahr in die Lehrpläne für persönliche und soziale Bildung, staatsbürgerliche Erziehung, religiöse Studien und Ethik

·              Einführung einer Hotline[4].

 

Innerhalb des Bereichs von Information sowie vorbeugenden und therapeutischen Tätigkeiten stellen die Inspektoren auch Beziehungen zu Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Vereinigungen und den Medien her[5]. Wegen der beobachteten Tätigkeit der Sekten ist es nötig, die Ausführung der erwähnten Initiativen fortzusetzen. Jedoch sind derzeit die Versuche organisierter Sektengruppen zur Infiltration der Schulen kein so großes Problem wie kontroverses Training oder therapeutische Methoden (wie zu Beginn erwähnt), die im Bildungsbereich organisiert werden. Die Analyse dieser Angebote war jedoch nicht das Thema dieses Beitrags.

 

Piotr Tomasz Nowakowski

mailto:nowakowski@maternus.pl

 

Zitate aus diesen Beitrag sollten die folgende Angabe enthalten:: P. T. Nowakowski, “Das polnische Bildungssystem mit Rücksicht auf das Sektenproblem”, ein Beitrag vorgestellt bei der Konferenz Die Verantwortung des Staates, Bürger vor destruktiven Sekten zu schützen: Analyse derzeitiger und möglicher zukünftiger Modelle, Europäische Föderation der Zentren für Forschung und Information über das Sektenwesen, Pisa (Italien), 12. April 2007.

 



[1] Diese Gruppe wurde zuerst bekannt als die Kinder Gottes (1968-1977), dann als die Familie der Liebe (1978-1981), später als die Familie (1982-2003), and seit 2004 ist ihr Name The Family International).

[2] Siehe A. Jakubowski, Werbują w Lesznie? [Rekrutieren sie in Leszno?], Głos Wielkopolski 79: 4.

[3] M. Karnowski, A. R. Potocki, Bractwo nigdy nie wybacza [Bruderschaft vergibt niemals], Newsweek Polska 46: 12-18; A. R. Potocki, Kuratorzy na Himawanti. Po publikacji [Die Schulinspektoren gegen Himavanti. Nach Veröffentlixhung], Newsweek Polska 48: 7.

[4] Raport o niektórych zjawiskach związanych z działalnością sekt w Polsce [Bericht über einige Phänomene, die mit Sektentätigkeit in Polen zusammenhängen], K. Wiktor, G. Mikrut (Eds.), Ministerstwo Spraw Wewnętrznych i Administracji [Ministerium für Inneres und Administration], Warschau 2000: 55.

[5] Ibidem.